Important: Read this before posting to this forum

  1. This forum is for questions related to the use of Apollo. We will answer some general choice modelling questions too, where appropriate, and time permitting. We cannot answer questions about how to estimate choice models with other software packages.
  2. There is a very detailed manual for Apollo available at http://www.ApolloChoiceModelling.com/manual.html. This contains detailed descriptions of the various Apollo functions, and numerous examples are available at http://www.ApolloChoiceModelling.com/examples.html. In addition, help files are available for all functions, using e.g. ?apollo_mnl
  3. Before asking a question on the forum, users are kindly requested to follow these steps:
    1. Check that the same issue has not already been addressed in the forum - there is a search tool.
    2. Ensure that the correct syntax has been used. For any function, detailed instructions are available directly in Apollo, e.g. by using ?apollo_mnl for apollo_mnl
    3. Check the frequently asked questions section on the Apollo website, which discusses some common issues/failures. Please see http://www.apollochoicemodelling.com/faq.html
    4. Make sure that R is using the latest official release of Apollo.
  4. If the above steps do not resolve the issue, then users should follow these steps when posting a question:
    1. provide full details on the issue, including the entire code and output, including any error messages
    2. posts will not immediately appear on the forum, but will be checked by a moderator first. This may take a day or two at busy times. There is no need to submit the post multiple times.

apollo_loadModel() cannot load the old model successfully

Ask questions about post-estimation functions (e.g. prediction, conditionals, etc) or other processing of results.
Post Reply
Ying Lu
Posts: 6
Joined: 26 Apr 2020, 03:08

apollo_loadModel() cannot load the old model successfully

Post by Ying Lu »

Hi Prof Hess,

I tried to use the function apollo_loadModel( ) to load an old model “MNL_socio_model.rds” but I received an error:

Code:
model = apollo_loadModel('/Users/yinglu/Documents/other paper/TRF/hybrid_models/MNL_socio_model')

Error in value[[3L]](cond) :
Cannot find or open /Users/yinglu//Users/yinglu/Documents/other paper/TRF/hybrid_models/MNL_socio_model_model.rds
In addition: Warning message:
In gzfile(file, "rb") :
cannot open compressed file '/Users/yinglu//Users/yinglu/Documents/other paper/TRF/hybrid_models/MNL_socio_model_model.rds', probable reason 'No such file or directory'

I am sure that that this rds file is saved to the folder ‘hybrid_models’. I also found a similar question in the forum (viewtopic.php?p=1833&hilit=elasticity+l ... able#p1833) and followed your suggestions but it still does not work. The version of Apollo that I am using is 0.2.9. That would be great if you could provide me some suggestions. Thank you in advance!

Kind regards,
Ying
stephanehess
Site Admin
Posts: 998
Joined: 24 Apr 2020, 16:29

Re: apollo_loadModel() cannot load the old model successfully

Post by stephanehess »

Easy one - you've included model in the name of the model

if your model is just called MNL_socio in apollo_control, then the command you should use is

model = apollo_loadModel('/Users/yinglu/Documents/other paper/TRF/hybrid_models/MNL_socio')

This is also clear by looking at the error, as it looks for file MNL_socio_model_model.rds
--------------------------------
Stephane Hess
www.stephanehess.me.uk
Ying Lu
Posts: 6
Joined: 26 Apr 2020, 03:08

Re: apollo_loadModel() cannot load the old model successfully

Post by Ying Lu »

Hi Prof Hess,

Thank you very much for your prompt response! Now it works perfectly.

I just found that the function “apollo_loadModel()” will automatically create ‘Users/yinglu’ at the beginning of a file path. When I used the code: model = apollo_loadModel('Documents/other paper/TRF/hybrid_models/MNL_socio'), it works.

Kind regards,
Ying
Post Reply